African Journal of

  • Abbreviation: Afr. J. Biotechnol.
  • Language: English
  • ISSN: 1684-5315
  • DOI: 10.5897/AJB
  • Start Year: 2002
  • Published Articles: 12353

Table of Content: 16 September, 2015; 14(37)

September 2015

Nanoparticle (MPG)-mediated delivery of small RNAs into human mesenchymal stem cells

The cellular membrane constitutes an effective barrier that protects the complex, yet highly ordered, intracellular compartment of the cell. Passage of molecules across this barrier is highly regulated and highly restricted. Cell penetrating peptides (CPPs) are a class of small cationic peptides that are able to defy the rules of membrane passage and gain access to the intracellular environment. MPG is one member of...

Author(s): Nnaemeka Darlington Ndodo,

September 2015

Development of stable marker-free nuclear transformation strategy in the green microalga Chlorella vulgaris

Although microalgae have valuable resources with great necessity in many biotechnological applications, no tools have been developed yet for a stable genetic transformation without antibiotic marker genes in these organisms. Chlorella is one of the most useful genus for biotechnological applications. The transfer of foreign DNA (vector or linear DNA cassette) into Chlorella by electroporation has very low stability and...

Author(s): Ahmed E. Gomma#, Sung-Kwon Lee#, Sang Mi Sun, Seung Hwan Yang, and Gyuhwa Chung

September 2015

Screening of the kernels of Pentadesma butyracea from various growing sites of Benin and evaluation of their antioxidant pigments content

Pentadesma butyracea Sabine (Clusiaceae) is a ligneous forest species of multipurpose uses. It is widely distributed in Africa from Guinea-Bissau to the West of the Democratic Republic of Congo. This study screened the kernel of P. butyracea on the basis of their physico-chemical properties. Six types of kernels were distinguished. The plant producing type 1 kernels (with medium length, low width and high thickness) and...

Author(s): Bernolde P. Ayegnon, Adéchola P. P. Kayodé, Glawdys Gnanvi, Yann madodé, Fagla-Amoussou Balbine, Paulin Azokpota, Mohamed M. Soumanou and Joseph D. Hounhouigan