African Journal of
Pharmacy and Pharmacology

  • Abbreviation: Afr. J. Pharm. Pharmacol.
  • Language: English
  • ISSN: 1996-0816
  • DOI: 10.5897/AJPP
  • Start Year: 2007
  • Published Articles: 2184

Table of Content: 22 April, 2014; 8(15)

April 2014

Evaluation of clarithromycin pharmacokinetics after single and repeated oral administration of atorvastatin in hyperlipidemic Wistar rats

The present study was aimed to evaluate the clarithromycin pharmacokinetics after atorvastatin single and repeated dose administration in induced hyperlipidemic Wistar rats. A high fat diet (2% cholesterol) was used to induce hyperlipidemia and feed was given to rats for 6 to 8 weeks. Group allocation was as follows: G1 to G3: induced hyperlipidemic rats pretreatment of atorvastatin as a single dose followed by...

Author(s): Prasanna Kumar Katnapally and Narsimha Reddy Y.

April 2014

Discriminating power of dissolution medium in comparative study of solid dispersion tablets of Biopharmaceutics Classification System class 2 drug

In vitro dissolution testing should discriminate between the impact of excipients on release profile of Biopharmaceutics Classification System class 2 drugs. Among the four batches of carvedilol solid dispersion tablets, SDT-2-L containing 30% w/w mannitol and 2.5% w/w L-hydroxypropyl cellulose LH-11 exhibited  least mean dissolution time in gastric buffer (pH = 1.2) and phosphate buffer (pH = 6.8). However,...

Author(s): Ushasi Das, Gopa Roy Biswas and Sutapa Biswas Majee

April 2014

Ameliorating effects of thymoquinone in rodent models of schizophrenia

The present study was carried out to evaluate the role of thymoquinone (TQ) in animal models of schizophrenia. TQ (20 mg/kg, intraperitoneally) was administered daily for 28 days in mice. Different models of schizophrenia such as haloperidol-induced catalepsy, apomorphine-induced climbing behaviour and elevated plus maze test were used. After the last dose of TQ on the 28th day, behavioural tests were performed followed...

Author(s): Rashid Ali Khan, Abul Kalam Najmi, Arshad Hussain Khuroo, Darpan Goswami and Mohd Akhtar