Journal of
Petroleum and Gas Engineering

  • Abbreviation: J. Petroleum Gas Eng.
  • Language: English
  • ISSN: 2141-2677
  • DOI: 10.5897/JPGE
  • Start Year: 2010
  • Published Articles: 123

Table of Content: June 2013; 4(6)

June 2013

Analysis of oil flow in fractured oil reservoir using carbondioxide (CO2) foam injection

  Most carbonate reservoirs are heterogeneous in terms of pore distribution and the matrix is extremely low permeable, hindering the flow of oil, while highly permeable fractures are the primary flow conduit. This study presents the hybrid discrete fracture network (DFN) approach to represent fracture network, more realistically, which is a continuum approach equipped with local grid refinement (LGR). The LGR...

Author(s): Minhee Choi, Junwoo Seo, Hyemin Park and Wonmo Sung

June 2013

Experimental study of new improved oil recovery from heavy and semi-heavy oil reservoirs by implementing immiscible heated surfactant alternating gas injection

  After thermal processes, steam injection is the most common enhanced oil recovery (EOR) methods in heavy oil reservoirs. It is common in heavy and semi heavy oil reservoirs to inject gas in conjugate with surfactant solutions to enhance the effect of gas on reservoir fluid which is called surfactant alternating gas (SAG) injection. The interest in immiscible and miscible SAG process has been grown...

Author(s): Mehdi Mohammad Salehi, Eghbal Sahraei and Seyyed Alireza Tabatabaei Nejad

June 2013

Experimental study of surfactant alternating gas injection versus water alternating gas and water flooding enhanced oil recovery methods

  Nitrogen is used in both the miscible and immiscible gas injection processes in oil reservoirs. In heterogeneous formations, gas tends to early breakthrough due to overriding and fingering. Surfactant alternating gas (SAG) injection is one of the methods commonly used to solve this problem. The foam which is composed in contact area of nitrogen and surfactant, increases injected gas...

Author(s): Mehdi Mohammad Salehi, Mohammad Amin Safarzadeh, Eghbal Sahraei and Seyyed Alireza Tabatabaei Nejad