Journal of
Veterinary Medicine and Animal Health

  • Abbreviation: J. Vet. Med. Anim. Health
  • Language: English
  • ISSN: 2141-2529
  • DOI: 10.5897/JVMAH
  • Start Year: 2009
  • Published Articles: 411

Table of Content: January 2017; 9(1)

January 2017

Incidence and the history of Echinococcus granulosus infection in dogs within the past few decades in Libya: A review

Echinococcus granulosus is a tiny tapeworm that parasitizes the small intestine of canids, mainly dogs, which act as definitive hosts for the parasite. Infected dogs are the main source of infection to humans and livestock which act as intermediate hosts resulting in hydatid disease condition. E. granulosus is widely distributed in many parts of the world, and is very common in North...

Author(s): Mohamed, M. Ibrahem, Wafa, M. Ibrahem, Kawther, M. Ibrahem, Badereddin, B. Annajar

January 2017

Prevalence of endo-parasites in donkeys and camels in Karamoja sub-region, North-eastern Uganda

Donkeys (Ass-Equus-assinus) and camels (Camelus dromedarius) in Uganda are mainly owned by low income earners and peasant farmers, mainly in the semi-arid North-eastern Uganda in Karamoja and Sebei sub-regions. The animals however, seem to receive little or relatively no veterinary care. This study was carried out in Moroto and Amudat districts, Karamoja sub-region, Uganda in March 2016. Faecal samples of 110 randomly...

Author(s): Jesca Nakayima, William Kabasa, Daniel Aleper and Duke Okidi

January 2017

Eukaryotic expression and characterization of BHV-1 glycoprotein D (gD) as a potential diagnostic antigen

Bovine herpesvirus-1 (BHV-1) causes Infectious bovine rhinotracheitis/Pustular vulvovaginitis in cattle. Glycoprotein D (gD) of BHV-1 represents a major component of the viral envelope and is a dominant immunogen. gD encoding gene was expressed in baculovirus-insect cell system. Viral genomic DNA extracted from BHV-1 grown on Madin-Darby Bovine Kidney (MDBK) cell monolayer was used as a template for PCR amplification of...

Author(s): M. Sylvestre, Ramneek Verma, Ravi Kant Agrawal and Dipak Deka