Journal of
Yeast and Fungal Research

  • Abbreviation: J. Yeast Fungal Res.
  • Language: English
  • ISSN: 2141-2413
  • DOI: 10.5897/JYFR
  • Start Year: 2010
  • Published Articles: 125

Table of Content: February 2010; 1(1)

February 2010

Antifungal properties of essential oils and some constituents to reduce foodborne pathogen

Investigations were conducted to evaluate the antifungal activities of the essential oils of Lippia rugosa, Plectranthus glandulosus, Clausena anisata and Vepris heterophylla and some essential oils compounds as citral, geraniol, nerol, citronellol, fenchone, linalool, 1,8 cineol, nerolidol, terpen 4-ol and -terpinolene on mycelia growth of different strains of Aspergillus, Penicillium and Fusarium...

Author(s): Yaouba Aoudou, Tatsadjieu Ngouné Léopold, Jazet Dongmo Pierre Michel, Etoa François Xavier and Mbofung Carl Moses

February 2010

Isolation and characterization of a fungal isolate for phosphate solubilization and plant growth promoting activity

A fungal species namely F1 was isolated from the rhizosphere on the basis of its ability to form halos (zone of solubilization) on Pikovskaya’s agar. F1 was assessed for phosphate solubilization, titratable acidity (TA), gluconate concentration and change in pH over incubation period of 21 days and other plant growth promoting traits. F1 solubilized maximum inorganic phosphorus (662 μg P ml-1) from tricalcium...

Author(s): Varsha Nenwani, Pratima Doshi, Tithi Saha and Shalini Rajkumar

February 2010

Study on combined antimicrobial activity of some biologically active constituents from wild Moringa peregrina Forssk.

Three plants were used in this study: Moringa pregrina, Achillea fragrantissimaand Coleome droserifolia. Six active constituents were separated from n-hexane and ethyl acetate fractions of Moringa pregrina. These active constituents were lupeol acetate, α-amyrin, β-amyrin, β-sitosterol, β-sitosterol-3-O- β-D-glucoside and apignin were assayed individually and in combination...

Author(s): M. A. Abdel-Rahman Tahany, A. K. Hegazy, A. Mohsen Sayed, H. F. Kabiel, T. El-Alfy and S. M. El-Komy