African Journal of
Pharmacy and Pharmacology

  • Abbreviation: Afr. J. Pharm. Pharmacol.
  • Language: English
  • ISSN: 1996-0816
  • DOI: 10.5897/AJPP
  • Start Year: 2007
  • Published Articles: 2183

Table of Content: 8 April, 2015; 9(13)

April 2015

Evaluation of ethanolic extract of Portulaca tuberosa Roxb leaves for antipyretic activity

Portulaca tuberosa (P. tuberosa) Roxb belonging to the family Portulacaceae, is traditionally used internally in dysuria as well as applied externally to erysipelas by the natives. The aerial parts of the plant contain diterpenoids, pilosanone A and pilosanone B. Previous studies showed that P. tuberosa has good diuretic and analgesic effects when used by the people traditionally, however, in vivo antipyretic activity...

Author(s): Bhuvnesh Kumar Singh, Neelanchal Trivedi and Anuj Agarwal

April 2015

Anti-nutrients composition and mineral analysis of allium cepa (onion) bulbs

Allium cepa (onion) bulbs are used as spice in the preparation of virtually all meals in Nigeria, and some researchers had reported its medicinal values. This study was designed to estimate the anti-nutrients and mineral composition of this spice. Standard procedures were used for the analysis of antinutrients. Estimation of the various minerals was done using flame photometer and atomic absorption spectrophotometers....

Author(s): Asanga Edet, Olorunfemi Eseyin and Ekanem Aniebiet

April 2015

Effect of Distichoselinum tenuifolium (Lag.) Garcia Martin & Silvestre essential oil on analgesic and behavioral assays

Distichoselinum tenuifolium (EODT) in Portugal is widespread in the province of Algarve-S Portugal, and it is traditionally used in the treatment of contact dermatitis and skin infections. The acetic acid-induced writhing, hot-plate and formalin tests were utilized for analgesic activity, and the exploratory activity of the rats was observed in an open-field and rota rod tests. The treatment with EODT (p.o) has...

Author(s): Larissa Daniele Machado Goés, Helisson de Oliveira Carvalho, Jonatas Lobato Duarte, Lígia Ribeiro Salgueiro, Carlos Cavaleiro,  Fabio Ferreira Perazzo and José Carlos Tavares Carvalho